Support Groups on Wikipedia

I decided to enter information that I have learned from the practicum assignment onto Wikipedia about the pro-ana website that I have examined throughout this semester. The page actually had more information concerning these types of websites then I had anticipated and covered a range of topics from its culture, impact, controversy, and criticism. I decided to post about thinspiration so I had looked extensively at this part of the website. There was not too much information about thinspiration on the Wikipedia page, just the basics like how it’s featured on most sites and includes videos, images, or montages of slim women, often celebrities, who may be anything from naturally slim to emaciate with visibly protruding bones. Since they had the basics of what thinspiration is covered I decided to add something about reverse inspiration that I had found on the site I had looked at for my project that I mentioned in a previous post. I included a screen shot of what I added to the website, both the page where I added the information and what the information on the actual Wikipedia page.

In case it is hard to read this is what I added to the website “Some pro-ana sites also include “reverse thinspiration” where they post pictures of obese individuals or celebrities that used to be thin looking heavier than usual in order to preach at users of the website not to end up like this. There are also quotations can be found again encouraging that users do not want to end up looking like the pictures posted in ‘reverse thinspiration’”, I had never added something to Wikipedia before so this was a new experience for me, and I do not know if they will keep this on their website but I did find it kind of neat that what I had written was posted on the website, I don’t know if I’ll ever do it again because I don’t really consider myself an expert on something but I’m glad I can say that I did it once.

Leave a Reply

