What we look at most on people’s profiles

One of my friends that I follow on Twitter is really into social media and is always sharing link to sites that have articles about social media. I often read these myself  because I also enjoy social media and I was so happy when I saw that one of the articles included a section about Pinterest. Since Pinterest is a newer site I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the article mentioned it. The article was on Mashable.com and was titled, ” Here’s How People Look at Your Profile-Literally” (http://mashable.com/2011/11/30/social-profile-eye-tracking/) “The study used the webcams of 30 participants to record their eye movements as they were shown profile pages fromFacebook, Google+, LinkedIn, Flickr, YouTube, Klout, Reddit, Digg, Tumblr, Twitter, StumbleUpon and Pinterest at 10-second intervals. What participants looked at on each page and in what order is recorded in the images below.” I thought it was really cool to see what people look at the longest. On Facebook, it is kind of obvious, the study found people look at a profile picture the longest. Since Pinterest is all about visual images and pictures I was curious to find out which images got the most attention and according to the study it was pictures at the top of the page, which makes sense because the site includes a seemingly never-ending scroll of images. Here is an Image of what the study found. 

Leave a Reply

