UberSocial Twitter

I recently found out about a specialized Twitter app called UberSocial. Up until now I have just been using Twitter on my computer and through the regular iPhone app (I’m not as “Twitter dependent” as most people are), so I was intrigued to see what this app was all about. I looked to their website to find out more information, in which I found out that the app works not only on iPhones, but also on Blackberrys and Androids. The website claims that UberMedia (the maker of UberSocial and another specialty app called Echofon) “makes it easier for users to find, follow and communicate with others on Twitter and other social media platforms.” I went ahead and downloaded UberSocial. I had to authorize the app to access my account, and informed me this application can: read tweets from your timeline, see who you follow and follow new people, update your profile, post tweets for you, and access your direct messages; which is similar to how the regular Twitter app functions. However, this app allows you to customize it by choosing a color scheme that you like, which differs from the default theme of the regular Twitter app.

UberSocial was also a bit more pervasive than the regular app. After I chose a color scheme, a message came up telling me to follow UberSocial on Twitter and to provide an email address so that they can send information about service issues and product updates. Since I don’t really care to know all this information, I decided not to follow UberSocial. Once I declined, another message came up asking to follow UberSocial just for news and updates, which I declined again. I personally found it annoying and didn’t like how the app itself had a social/interactive function on Twitter because I simply wanted to use it as a service.

Once I was all logged in, my Twitter feed immediately came up. While it has similar features as the regular Twitter app, there are a few differences. First, it shows account names, @ mentions, links, and hashtags in a different color than the main text of the Tweet, which I actually really like. Also, instead of the toolbar of options on the bottom, access to everything is located on the top of the screen. It also features advertisments on the bottom, which is a little annoying but tolerable. The biggest difference between the regular app and UberSocial is that it has a whole hidden toolbar of options. I clicked through most of the buttons and found that UberSocial is definitely more advanced than the original app. There are a ton of different types of settings that you can choose, including account settings, tweet settings and performance settings. It seems to give the user a lot of control over how they want the app to run and certain information or actions. While I can definitely see why many Twitter users would want to use UberSocial, it is just a little too intense for my liking. Everything that I would want to do on Twitter can be done with the regular app, so I’m not sure if I will continue to use this or not.

One Comment on “UberSocial Twitter”

  1. danabarber says:

    This is a great post because I find it interesting how twitter also has this application that allows you to make your tweets longer than the original twitter app. I actually use to use this app a lot of my blackberry. I never used twitter on my blackberry, only ubersocial. I think it takes everything wrong with the twitter apps and makes it work better for its users. You can post more than 140 characters and retweet anyone you follow not just the twitter accounts who are public. Although I used this on my blackberry, when I switched over the iPhone I downloaded this app and hated it. It always messed up and said I had notifications when I did not. It also was a lot slower to load than the regular twitter app. I really wish they would make a better ubersocial app for the iphone because I truly enjoyed the features that allowed you to write extra characters n retweet everyone.


Leave a Reply

