Senior-Site, the polite Senior Citizen Chat Room

For my post before my presentation i decided to head back to seniorsite.com. This is where i first found Senior Citizens willing to answer my questions. On other sites I was basically treated like an old creepy man. Today I decided to chat with the user, linders. She welcomed me into the chat and rememberd I was a student and offered to help. She is 67 and told me she needed to use the internet for a job a few years ago and found it very quick and easy to pick up on. She told me that she originally had a facebook account but found it very scary when random people would add her so decided to get rid of it. She did however enjoy using it to stay in touch with family. She said she typically uses mapquest and does research on the internet. She told me her favorite thing is to send Ecards to her friends because theyre cute, easy and have music.

She told me that typically people attend meet ups to meet men. She explained to me that she is widowed and enjoys coming on the chat to make friends and stay busy. She felt very comfortable sharing her personal information with me which i have found to be typical of senior citizens in these chat rooms. She seemed to be  a percentage of seniors who seem very comfortable using the Internet and she seemed almost offended when i asked her if learning everything was difficult. I actually really enjoyed chatting with her and learning about her uses of the internet. All of the seniors i spoke to loved bragging about their families and she was one of those. I decided to also check out some discussion forums at senior living magazine. I thought this was very cool. They had one called ‘book club,’ where people could write comments, questions or recommendations about books and the other users would come in and discuss their reactions.They also had other forums about health care and illness and they all seemed to be very actively posted in.

In preparation for my presentation to-morrow I wanted to ask the class what they think entails a ‘”normal internet user.” Is it between specific ages or do they have to use the internet for specific reasons? Also how does the rest of the class expect senior citizens to use the internet. For example how often or for what purpose?

3 Comments on “Senior-Site, the polite Senior Citizen Chat Room”

  1. danabarber says:

    This was a very interesting presentation that surprised me. I never realized there was a senior citizen community online and how advanced senior citizens can be with the internet. My stereotype of senior citizens is that they are technologically challenged. I know that both my grandparents can only use a typical cell phone to make phone calls and would never be able to navigate the internet to find chats to engage in. It is surprising how much information is said in these chats full of strangers but it is nice to know that this is their comfort community.
    Lily asks us what we think is a normal internet user. I would have to say normal internet users start at the age of 17 when most people start to apply for college. I think that there is no age limit with normal internet users but because we grew up with the development of the internet and past generation did not, I believe there is a participation gap with many over the age of sixty. If people know a lot about the internet passed age sixty, I believe they have been using the internet for specific reasons that lead them to enhance their knowledge about the internet.

  2. Hi there.

    Have you been looking for a place online where you can chat with nice people from all over the world without all the drama that usually goes along with chatrooms ?

    Come check out a community with UNLIMITED ” FREE ” cams, wonderful people to meet, fantastic Oldies music and most importantly – no troublemakers.

    You can hear some of the greatest oldies of all time !

    30’s – 40’s – 50’s – 60’s and 70’s !

    You can meet wonderful people from every corner of the world who love meeting new people.

    You dont have to worry about typical chatroom banter from troublemakers because moderators are in place to make sure if you have an issue , it is resolved immediatley.

    Great music , great people , great conversation without all the drama , the way chatrooms were meant to be !

    You can request music , have a great chat , meet new people all in one place !

    http://www.bullseyeradio.com

    Come say hi !

    Hope to see you there !

  3. I have been to BullsEye Radio many times. I really do love it there.
    There are not any troublemakers at all, the music is great and truly i have never met a more nicer bunch of folks on the web. They really make sure the nice folks stay in and the people who like all the social drama stay out.

    And of course I personally love the oldies , so the music to me is great. 30s to the 80’s music and you can request anything and the DJ’s are really so cordial and friendly and quick to play your request. I actually was so impressed that I signed up with them as a sponsor of their station and they have really done good by me !

    I own a online custom photo gift shop ( http://www.cnyphotogifts.com ) and the ad they did for me was fantastic.

    So Kudo’s to you John Michaels !!

    Seniorsite.com is ok but not nearly as glamorous a website as BullsEye Radio Oldies community and the chat is flash based which is state of the art and it really is gorgeous and alot of fun. They offer alot on the site besides chat and great oldies but goodies music.

    Cam of the day, games, blogs , and if you help them out with a small donation of 5 dollars a month you also can get access to forums and a few other benefits. But of course that is totally optional. 90% of the site is totally free if you just sign up .

    And on a final note , they are very humble about certain things, you’d never know it unless you really look at the front page but at the very bottom, you’ll see a slideshow of famous people that have sent them autographs and have listened and still do listen to the station. I mean really famous ! People like Tony Bennett , Neil Diamond , Doris Day , Bobby Rydell and the list goes on and on ! Over 70 I think at last count , so thats a nice feather in their cap as well to have those types of associations !

    I’m not one to brag on anything unless I’m sure 150% that it is A) legit B) a good deal and C) honest !
    I gotta tell ya , BullsEye Radio is all that and more !

    So dont take it from me , Im a sponsor , but go see for yourself and I bet you’ll come away with the same thought I had in my head when I first visited . . . . .WOW ! I really had alot of fun in there tonite !

    Happy Chatting and check out the great tunes they got there !

    CNY Photo Gifts Management


Leave a Reply

