Entering and Signing Up for Self-Help Sites

When going to join daily strength- group that offers support to those with eating disorders it was super easy to join, all I had to do was create an account.   I had to enter very basic information (nothing even personal about myself) and I was allowed to be a part of the website. The sign up process is shown in the screen shot below.

Just minutes after I had set up registration for my account I had gotten an e-mail welcoming me to the site and offering me helpful hints as a way to get started with daily strength. These hints including how to make a profile, offering different ways to make friends and connections with other people on the site, how to join one of their support groups and how to set up security measures and be able to protect myself on the website

It is not easy to see, but if you look at the screen shot below, this was at the pro-ana site that I have been looking at (entitled Ana’s underground Grotto) and is the disclaimer that is shown for people who try and attend the site. This is just the disclaimer if you are trying to enter the Grotto- where different tips and dieting strategies to stay thin are located. If one is trying to enter the forum there are different requirements. To enter the forum you have to sign up to be a member.

When one tries to enter the forum there is another disclaimer and terms of conditions that appear. The main part of the registration conditions say, “You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, sexually-orientated or any other material that may violate any laws be it of your country, the country where “Project Shapeshift” is hosted or International Law. Doing so may lead to you being immediately and permanently banned, with notification of your Internet Service Provider if deemed required by us. The IP address of all posts are recorded to aid in enforcing these conditions. You agree that “Project Shapeshift” have the right to remove, edit, move or close any topic at any time should we see fit. As a user you agree to any information you have entered to being stored in a database. While this information will not be disclosed to any third party without your consent, neither “Project Shapeshift” nor phpBB shall be held responsible for any hacking attempt that may lead to the data being compromised.”

The weirdest thing that I had to do when I was registering was to type in the word anorexic in a box. They said this was a way to prevent automated submissions, but that seemed odd to me. It also said that they would have to review my submission and report back if I was accepted to be a part of the forum.

My submission was not granted until three days later and when I was accepted to be part of this site all it said was “Your account on “Project Shapeshift” has now been activated, you may login using the username you received in a previous e-mail” There were not hints as to how to use the site as with the daily strength website, which may have been better because in my opinion people should not be on these sites to begin with, so teaching them how to accurately use them would not be the best thing in the world

Leave a Reply

