Veg IQ Test

Hi all,
So I’ve been doing more exploring on a few of the sites that I’m subscribed at as well as others that are just informational. I just wanted to share with you about a “Veg IQ” test that I look today on HappyCow. Turns out I’m not as intelligent when it comes to vegetarian information as I thought I was, which was a little disappointing considering I feel like I’ve learned a lot already. I only got a 55% on my test!
Some of the questions that were on it I did find to be a little controversial. For example,  “Veal comes from____?” the ‘correct’ answer was supposed to be “baby cows that are never allowed to walk”. I don’t know if I’m just being overly optimistic or what, but I don’t think that they should necessarily make/teach that generalization. I would think that some baby cows that are killed to produce veal are allowed to walk at some point. I know wiki isn’t the most reliable source, but http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Veal just off the top of google, there is free-raised and pasture-raised veal that are allowed to roam openly. Also… every SECOND one football field of rainforest is destroyed in order to produce 257 hamburgers…what?! I just find that impossible to believe, how do we have any rainforest left!?
Many of the questions I also found really neat and was surprised to learn and kind of questioned…apparently recent studies show that drinking a lot of milk leads to higher chances of osteoporosis?!? Also, spinach has more iron per calorie than a sirloin steak or chicken breast! Vegans can eat oyster mushrooms (name is deceiving I guess) but not whey.
Some of them I just sort of assumed about, and I wish they would have went into more detail instead of just telling you if you were correct or not. I know that protein is a really beneficial part of meat and I guess I always thought that without this you could get some, but thought you would probably need some sort of supplement as well. Turns out that is false. Also, I really wish they would have explained the hamburger one (above).
On the bright side, I got a 90% the second time I look it.
A side note… I want to know why you guys think that many vegetarians eat eggs? I see it as those being underdeveloped chickens that are killed, so I’m not quite sure how that is a ton different from eating ‘real’ meat?

One Comment on “Veg IQ Test”

  1. tubelaunch says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say you have done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Opera. Outstanding Blog!


Leave a Reply

